Thinking about moving to, or visiting Toronto?
Here are some top places to check out.
Today’s Blog features the Old Mill Inn & Spa in Toronto’s Bloor West Village.
Home to some of Toronto’s most beautiful Real Estate, and a stunning Inn, Spa, Restaurant and Event Venue. They put on a fabulous Mother’s Day and Father’s Day brunch. If you’ve never been, you must go! Not only do they have an incredible selection in their elegant dining room for special occasions, they also offer a regular Sunday brunch buffet and a regular lunch buffet Tuesday-Saturday.
History of Toronto's Old Mill Inn & Spa
Long before the Inn that we know today, The Old Mill, and the Valley in which it sits have long been a part of Canadian Heritage dating back centuries when the Huron Indians lived along the Humber Valley.
In 1615 Samuel Champlain sent a young man, Etienne Brule to explore the route southward from Lake Simcoe where he lived among the Huron Indians, learning their language, customs and becoming a mediator between the Huron and the French settlers. He became the first recorded explorer to see the Humber River and view Lake Ontario.
In 1973, Lord Simcoe ordered the construction of a sawmill, which he named the Kings Mill. This became the first industrial site of what is known today as the City of Toronto.
Trading along the Humber Valley transformed the Humber River into a vibrant industry of Mills throughout the Valley. By 1834, many mills were in operation along the banks, becoming the hub of business and social activities. Eventually, the original Kings Milll was replaced by a new larger Mill, which was destroyed by a fire in 1849. A new mill was constructed with the stone, lumber and heavy beams came from the Humber Valley. This Mill was again destroyed by a fire when a wood-burning stove overheated.
By the early 1900’s,a financier, railway builder and real estate developer named Robert Home Smith purchased 3,000 acres in the Humber Valley from Lake Ontario to what is Eglington Avenue today. His concept was to develop a unique and modern community which began the transformation of the Humber Valley.
On August 1, 1914, the Tea Garden opened, establishing the afternoon English Tea tradition— coinciding with the outbreak of WW1. It acted as the community centre for residents and a place where news and events of the day were exchanged. As the popularity of the Old Mill grew, many additions to the Old Mill Building began.
The print room was built in 1919 as a place to offer dinner and dancing in an elegant atmosphere. The Dance Hall and Garret Room were constructed and the Old Mill continued to attract regular clientele through the years of the depression.
From then on, the Old Mill became a focus point of dining, dancing, facilities for private parties and special occasions. There was an emphasis on the quality of food prepared by their famous European chef.
Today, this tradition lives on and the beauty and luxury of the Old Mill and Surrounding Area do not go unnoticed. Take a stroll through the gorgeous streets, take in the beautiful architecture and pop in to the dining room for something to eat!
Written by Deanna Allegranza.
To learn more about Toronto real estate or living in Toronto, Etobicoke or Simcoe County, contact me at email@example.com.